No announcement yet.

CQ Contest Hall of Fame 2019

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

    CQ Contest Hall of Fame 2019

    (Xenia, OH - May 18, 2019) - CQ magazine today announced the induction of three new members to the CQ Contest Hall of Fame, which honors those contesters who not only excel in personal performance but who also "give back" to the hobby in outstanding ways. CQ Contesting Editor David Siddall, K3ZJ, presented Hall of Fame plaques at an induction ceremony held at the annual Dayton contest dinner on May 18.

    The 2019 inductees to the CQ Contest Hall of Fame are:
    Bruce Horn, WA7BNM, provides a great service to the contesting community via web-based resources for many popular contests. He maintains the most comprehensive contest calendar on the web, and he developed the popular <> website where contesters go to post raw scores after an event ends, to compare notes and search past contest logs. He is also manager of the North American QSO Party and developed the current National Contest Journal website.

    Dean Straw, N6BV, is an outstanding contester, a talented writer, editor, presenter and educator, and has advanced the state of the art in antennas, computer modeling, propagation and contest planning and preparation. As an ARRL staff member for 15 years, he edited multiple editions of The ARRL Antenna Book and several other publications. He also developed the High Frequency Terrain Analysis (HFTA) software ,which revolutionized antenna system planning by linking antenna design, installation height, tower location, surrounding terrain, and the expected angles of propagation to target regions. His work with the propagation prediction program VOACAP revolutionized the way we plan for contests, allowing specific band opening predictions dependent on solar conditions to indicate when band changes and operations should be planned.

    Kresimir "Chris" Kovarik, 9A5K (SK), developed the DXLog and KLog programs, competed in the World Radiosport Team Championship (WRTC) and served the broader amateur radio community in Europe as past president of the Croatian Amateur Radio Association and as vice-chairman of the IARU Region 1 HF Committee. He became a Silent Key earlier this year.

    The CQ Contest Hall of Fame was established in 1986 to recognize those amateurs who have made major contributions to the art of radio contesting. This is the 36th annual induction.

    CQ Amateur Radio Magazine CQ Contest Hall of Fame 2019
    73 Al 4L5A