No announcement yet.

YASME Foundation News - 6 November 2017

  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

    YASME Foundation News - 6 November 2017


    November 6, 2017
    St. Charles, MO


    The Yasme Excellence Award is presented to individuals and groups who, through their own service, creativity, effort and dedication, have made a significant contribution to amateur radio. The contribution may be in recognition of technical, operating or organizational achievement, as all three are necessary for amateur radio to grow and prosper. The Yasme Excellence Award is in the form of a cash grant and an individually-engraved crystal globe.

    The Board of Directors of The Yasme Foundation is pleased to announce the latest recipients of the Yasme Excellence Award:

    Dayton Amateur Radio Association (DARA)--to pick up the world's largest amateur radio event on a few months notice and move it to a completely different facility is a daunting task. That it went so smoothly was a testament to the extraordinary efforts of the 600 volunteers and event leadership.

    Paul Verhage KD4STH and Bill Brown WB8ELK--for their leadership and continued technical innovation in amateur radio high-altitude ballooning (ARHAB - While not the traditional means of introduction, ARHAB is exposing hundreds of students to amateur radio through an interest in science experimentation. Both have written extensively about ARHAB and have contributed material to the ARRL Handbook.

    Nathaniel Frissell W2NAF and Magda Moses KM4EGE--for creating and leading the HamSCI (Ham Radio Science Citizen Investigation) organization that sponsored the Solar Eclipse QSO Party (SEQP). The SEQP was the largest amateur radio experiment ever devised and generated the world's most extensive set of HF propagation observations during an eclipse. Beyond the SEQP, HamSCI is attracting the interest of professional/academic researchers such as from numerous universities, the Arecibo Radio Observatory in Puerto Rico, MIT’s Haystack Observatory, and HAARP facility in Alaska.

    The WSJT Development Team--initially the work of Joe Taylor, K1JT, the WSJT software is now maintained and extended by a team of developers led by Bill Somerville, G4WJS; Steve Franke, K9AN; Greg Beam, KI7MT; Michael Black, W9MDB; Edson Pereira, PY2SDR; and Nico Palermo, IV3NWV; along with Joe Taylor. Their latest digital mode, FT8, combines the extraordinary low-SNR performance of JT9 and JT65 with a much faster decoding and exchange process.

    Dale Hughes, VK1DSH--for his excellent work as Chairman of the Amateur Working Group in ITU-R Working Party 5A and as Chairman of the sub Working Group dealing with a worldwide 60 meter amateur allocation during World Radiocommunication Conference 2015.

    The Board also made a grant to Gary Pearce, KN4AQ, for his production and distribution of videos of interest to the amateur radio community through Ham Radio Now and YouTube.

    * * * * *

    The Yasme Foundation is a not-for-profit corporation organized to support scientific and educational projects related to amateur radio, including DXing (long distance communication) and the introduction and promotion of amateur radio in developing countries.
    Ward Silver, NØAX, President
    The Yasme Foundation

    Board of Directors:

    Ward Silver, NØAX, President and Director Ken Claerbout, K4ZW, Vice-President and Director Rusty Epps, W6OAT, Treasurer and Director Kip Edwards, W6SZN, Secretary and Director Hans Blondeel Timmerman, PB2T, Director Martti Laine, OH2BH, Director Fred Laun, K3ZO, Director Robert Vallio, W6RGG, Director
    73 Al 4L5A