More than just DX News

YASME Excellence Awards 2016


May 26, 2016
St. Charles, MO


The YASME Excellence Award 2016

The Yasme Excellence Award is presented to individuals who, through their own service, creativity, effort and dedication, have made a significant contribution to amateur radio. The contribution may be in recognition of technical, operating or organizational achievement, as all three are necessary for amateur radio to grow and prosper. The Yasme Excellence Award is in the form of a cash grant and an individually-engraved crystal globe.

The Board of Directors of The Yasme Foundation is pleased to announce the award of the Yasme Excellence Award to the following individuals:

Tim Duffy, K3LR: While Tim is involved in many facets of amateur radio, the Yasme Excellence Award is made in recognition of his adaptation and development of the Contest University (CTU), now in its tenth year. CTU has not only reached hundreds of amateurs around the world, but it has also inspired others to create their own CTU-format training programs in other fields. Tim’s dedication to CTU is in the finest traditions of amateur radio’s self-teaching and training.

Carole Perry, WB2MGP: The Yasme Excellence Award is made in recognition of Carole’s many years of contributions to teaching and mentoring youth interested in amateur radio and her efforts in organizing and promoting the interests of young operators. This youth-oriented work becomes more and more important to amateur radio with every passing year. Carole’s dedication to this work, including through the Radio Club of America, is in the finest traditions of amateur radio’s self-teaching and training.

Tom Rauch, W8JI: The Yasme Excellence Award is made in recognition of Tom’s many contributions to the technical advancement of the amateur service. Tom’s willingness to provide education and direction to amateurs through his website and other communications is a prime example of hams mentoring, teaching and training each other in the finest traditions of amateur radio.

The Yasme Foundation is a not-for-profit corporation organized to support scientific and educational projects related to amateur radio, including DXing (long distance communication) and the introduction and promotion of amateur radio in developing countries.

Ward Silver, NØAX, President
The Yasme Foundation

Board of Directors:

Fred Laun, K3ZO, Director and Vice-President
Rusty Epps, W6OAT, Director and Treasurer
Kip Edwards, W6SZN, Director and Secretary
Hans Blondeel Timmerman, PB2T, Director
Ken Claerbout, K4ZW, Director
Martti Laine, OH2BH, Director
Robert Vallio, W6RGG, Director

YASME Excellence Awards 2016 comments forum

Your comments are important to us!

1 2 3 4 5